Kathy Franz Award


    Prior to 2009 WSHHRA honored one of the members with the Dorothy Gannon Award. The award recognized a member’s single or long-term contribution to the human resources management profession and to WSHHRA. In 2009 WSHHRA honored one of the founding members with a brand new award, the Kathy Franz Excellence in HR Leadership Award, and it was presented for the first time.

    The award was developed to recognize a member of WSHHRA who displays professional excellence and makes a significant contribution to the field of Human Resources Management in Healthcare, as Kathy always did. As one of our founding members, Kathy had been at Yakima Memorial Hospital (now Virginia Mason Memorial) for 35 years until she reitred in 2010. She still remains active today as the Chairperson for the South Central Washington Health Care Human Resources Association (SCWHHRA). Her exemplary HR leadership warrants recognition from WSHHRA.

    When completing the nomination form you will need to upload a document that shows evidence of significant nominee involvement in a leadership role within their organization, the community, Chapter activities, and/or special projects. The narrative must describe in detail the nominee’s contribution, how it was identified, process implemented, and overall outcome of the nominee’s contribution.


    Nominations must be submitted by the end of August each year. Click here to complete the nomination form.


    WSHHRA’s Board will review all nominations and select award recipient’s based upon the following criteria:

    • Nominee is a WSHHRA member

    • Demonstration of Leadership and Excellence as noted above

    Award recipients will receive the following recognition:

    • Congratulatory letter from the WSHHRA President with a copy to the award recipient’s CEO & immediate manager

    • Recognition and award presented at the WSHHRA Fall Conference


    Previous winners of the Kathy Franz Excellence in HR Award include:

    Amanda Adams, Virginia Mason Memorial, 2019

    Pam Healea, Prosser Memorial Hospital, 2016

    Chandra Rodriguez, Samaritan Healthcare, 2015

    Juliet Nelson, Providence, Walla Walla, 2014

    Steven Stahl, Virginia Mason, 2013

    Jack Powers, Central Washington Hospital, 2011

    Julie Feller, Grays Harbor Community Hospital, 2010

    Kristen Fox, Kadlec Medical Center, 2009


    Previous winners of the Dorothy Gannon award include:

    Jack Powers, Central Washington Hospital, 2006

    Connie DiGregorio, Cascade Valley Hospital and Clinics, 2005

    Rena Irwin, Swedish Health Services, 2004

    Bonnie Polhamus, Columbia Basin Hospital, 2002

    Lisa McDaniel, Whidbey General Hospital, 2000

    Jeff Clark, Kadlec Medical Center, 1999

    Diane Weiserberger, University of Washington Medical Center, 1997

    Debra Naubert, Good Samaritan Community Healthcare, 1996

    Kathy Franz, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital, 1995

    Lewis Sutton, Sacred Heart Medical Center, 1994

    Dennis Key, Central Washington Hospital, 1993

    Alice Quinley, Kadlec Medical Center, 1992

    W. Scott Houston, PeaceHealth, 1991

    Ingrid Hogan, Virginia Mason Medical Center, 1990

    Diana Hollingsworth, Holy Family Hospital, 1989